Way Back When.

It’s crazy how the snow came in as if it never left. Gone are the luke warm days and welcome goosebump-causing wind chills.

I was out at Swiss Chalet last night and my complexion got complemented on. A big thanks goes out to my boyfriend leaving me his used coffee grinds in the filter (this may sound sarcastic, but it’s most definitely not!). As I’ve told you, I am a fan of using things around the house that you may cook with or consume, on my skin. Yesterday, I realized my skin was looking a little dull and uneven, which meant time for exfoliation. BUT I am always weary of exfoliating my hypersensitive skin. So after I showered yesterday, I grabbed a handful of moist coffee grinds (see photo), and gently covered my face with them and waited 2 minutes. Simply rinsed it off and patted my skin dry and moisturized with coconut oil.

IMG_20141118_090619
Now I wish I had taken a photo of the grinds on my face to show you!

This PETA approved, cruelty-free scrub works wonders. I am not sure if it was the specific brand, but I did not add any oil, yet I felt a light moisturizing effect from the grinds. We picked up our coffee from Costco and it’s Kirkland 100% Colombian and fine grind which is important because you don’t want it to be too abrasive on your skin.

Here's the coffee, ironically I am drinking Matcha Green Tea.
Here’s the coffee, ironically I am drinking Matcha Green Tea.

Still skeptical? Caffeine in coffee has a number of benefits for your skin, from treating redness and inflammation, to reducing the appearance of under-eye circles, to getting rid of cellulite. Read more at Livestrong.com.

It’s funny, my curiosity for using natural things seems to surprise others, so I feel the need to spread the word on my blog. You don’t need to spend a ton of money on beauty products to get the same results and you save your skin from absorbing harsh and harmful toxins.

My mom being diagnosed with breast cancer, me not having the best immune system and this video below jump started me and my alternative choices.

Luckily from my environmental studies background, I was educated on the food system and other various info my brain seemed to attain. Knowledge is power! Think about this, if your grandparents saw what you were putting on your skin or eating… would they recognize it?

Enough of the doom and gloom.. here’s another great song to kick of your day and put a smile on your face (and maybe a spring in your step).

xoxo

signature.jpg

Leave a Reply

