Save Money To Do What You Love

1st-quarter-double52-week-money-challengebingo

 

What do all of these tables have in common? They all give you ways to hold your self accountable to an easy way to save. I only found out about this thanks to my friend who works at CIBC, and she is into all things Pinterest. We were chatting about my travels, and I am vowing (for my own sanity) that I want to travel at least once a year. So, she sent me some links to simple Saving Challenges.

Basically, each week you save $X, depending on which style you like. Look at the tables, and then by the end of the year, you will have saved that much money! Although, the bottom one is more flexible. It allows for saving to be catered to a period of time with increased spending, such as Christmas or for me… a ton of birthdays in January and February.

An added note I want to highlight, is that if you are Canadian, I highly suggest getting a Tax Free Savings Account (TFSA). It’s great for short and long term investment, it helps you out during tax season because the account is free, and you don’t pay taxes on what is in the account or when it gets taken out. In the news there are talks about doubling the TFSA amount, but currently you can input $5000 per year (with no penalty), but since the TFSA started in 2009 you have a ton of moulah to carry forward. Simply put:

Starting in 2009, Canadian residents age 18 or older will be eligible to contribute up to $5,000 annually to a TFSA, with unused room being carried forward. Contributions will not be deductible. Capital gains and other investment income earned in a TFSA will not be taxed. Withdrawals will be tax-free.

It’s simple to set up a bi-weekly payment (even something little like $50 — which is what I am doing).

Since I traveled to the Netherlands and Spain last week, I am already set on saving once again for another trip!

travel
Sierra Nevada, Malaga & Granada Apartment
1622713_904412569592592_4111771446967377447_n
Ready to go! Got my money, passport and notepad with all the key info I need.
10152479_10155186945115587_398171016099629420_n
Enjoying the Alhambra in Granada, Spain with my sister… although the photographer is having some issues.
10987691_10155172187175587_2706100617803230522_n
Amsterdam (Netherlands) has so much water… I love it!

You really can have the life of your dreams, whatever that may be. I saw a funny video about ‘the friend who travels all the time (but hardly works)’ which I will post below. Keep in mind, this is not me, I am a small business owner who bootstrapped their way up, a student, with a ton of debt and am paying my way through school (undergrad already finished and now) to complete a Masters. I travel as a treat for myself and to learn new ways to appreciate my life.

We all have our own priorities and as long as we are all happy with what we choose, that is all that matters. I love to vacate my routine to re-appreciate it, and to see my home through new fresh eyes. I hope this post has made you think about what makes you truly happy, and realize tangible ways to save money to achieve reaching personal satisfaction.

keem-bay-achill-island.-go-at-least-once-a-year-to-a-place-you-have-never-been-travel-quote1-660x657xoxo

signature3

Leave a Reply

